What is Commissioner's Court?

This is a group of elected officials charged with administering the Dallas County government.  The Commissioner's Court is made up of four individuals representing the four Commissioner's Districts and one County Judge who presides over the Commissioner's Court.  The four Commissioners are elected by the registered voters in their Commissioner's District.  The County Judge is elected county wide.

How does it function?

The Commissioner's Court acts as the executive of the local government, levies local taxes, administers county governmental services such as pensions, courts, public health oversight, property registration, building code enforcement, and public works such as road maintenance.  The Commissioner's Court  also exercises broad policy making authority and conducts the general business of the county.  The Court performs the following functions:

  • Adopts the County's budget and tax rates;
  • Approves all budgeted purchases of the County;
  • Fills vacancies in elective and appointive offices;
  • Sets all salaries and benefits;
  • Has exclusive authority to authorize contracts; and
  • Provides and maintains all county buildings and facilities.